South Euclid Lyndhurst School District News Article




Charles F. Brush High School is honored with being 1 of 3 schools selected in Ohio to be awarded the OIAAA/OHSAA Award of Excellence this year.

The award, a collaboration between the Ohio High School Athletic Association (OHSAA) and the Ohio Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (OIAAA), recognizes schools that provide exemplary support and promotion of education-based athletic programming in their school and community.

Recipients of the award over the past 3 years:

· Brush HS (Lyndhurst, OH); Mike Murphy, athletic administrator

· David Anderson HS (Libson, OH); Kyle Bing, athletic administrator

· Mason HS (Mason, OH); Scott Stemple, athletic administrator

· Wyoming HS (Wyoming, OH); Jan Wilking, athletic administrator

· Gilmour Academy (Gates Mill, OH); Jeff Walrich, athletic administrator
· Kilbourne HS (Worthington, OH); Jeff Todd, athletic administrator
· Ottawa Hills HS (Toledo, OH); Tim Erickson, athletic administrator
· Streetsboro HS (Streetsboro, OH); Randy Tevepaugh, athletic administrator

A school must demonstrate and prove they have reached several benchmarks set by OHSAA and the OIAAA that demonstrate best practice in their athletic department. There are 9 different domains the committee scores and looks for excellence in each category. The award recognizes consistent and on-going efforts that promote education-based athletic programming. Brush HS athletics has shown an intentional and relentless effort to continue to teach lifelong lessons thru sports. The athletic department has embraced the mission statement of the S. Euclid Lyndhurst School District and continues to support it throughout the athletic department. Athletics is an extension of the classroom and learning continues outside the classroom in the Brush HS sports program.

Dr. Dan Ross, Commissioner of the OHSAA, Jerry Snodgrass, Assistant Commissioner of the OHSAA and Bruce Brown, Executive Director of the OIAAA issued the following joint statement on the presentation of the award: “Ohio interscholastic athletic programs have always been considered some of the most exemplary programs in the country in reflecting the value our schools and communities place upon education-based sports. The recipients of the ‘Award of Excellence’ have demonstrated a consistent and well-developed plan to keep the focus of their sport programs upon delivering life-long skills for all participants and mirroring the educational mission of their respective institutions.”

Brush HS will be honored during the 2017 Ohio Boys State Basketball Championships March 24 at the Schottenstein Center on the campus of The Ohio State University.

For additional details on the “Award of Excellence” criteria, go to:

Print This Article
View text-based website