South Euclid Lyndhurst School District News Article

Charles F. Brush High School Alumni Association


The Charles F. Brush High School Alumni Association recently inducted six new members to its Wall of Achievement, to honor the substantial accomplishments of those who have passed through Brush’s halls and have gone onto significant accomplishments. Lary Bloom (Class of 1961), Joe Hennes (Class of 2000), Simone Jelks (Class of 2004), Robert Kain (Class of 1979), Barbara Roman (Class of 1968), and David Nichting (past administrator) were all formally inducted during the 12th Wall of Achievement Induction Dinner held last month at The Venue at Stonewater.

  • Lary Bloom (’61) was inducted after graduating from Ohio University, serving a Tour of Duty in Vietnam, and enjoyed a career as a professional writer working at Yale University. He also taught at Trinity College and Fairfield University. Bloom has authored and co-authored several books, and his writings have been published in the New York Times, the Miami Herald, among others.

  • Joe Hennes (’00) was inducted upon earning a degree from Ohio University, and working for the famed Sesame Workshop from 2012-2021, in which he has starred in several episodes and for which he has even written scripts. He has been the producer and host of countless podcasts interviewing “muppeteers” such as Frank Oz (Yoda, Miss Piggy, Grover) and Carol Spinney (Big Bird) who all worked with Jim Henson. Joe is currently the Creative Development Editor for Audible, working on their line of children’s podcasts and audio stories.

  • Simone Jelks (’04) enters the Wall of Achievement after a storied athletic career, during which she remains the Brush all-time leader in points, rebounds, steals and free throws. She earned a full scholarship to University of Southern California, and now serves as the fifth female and only African American female NBA Official. She also authored a non-fiction advice book that encourages young people to be themselves.

  • Robert Kain (’79) was inducted with this year’s class after graduating from the University of San Diego and ascending to prominent status as an entrepreneur, Biotech executive, architect and engineer. The systems he designed are used by 23 and Me, Ancestry DNA and other companies to provide consumer genotyping information. They are also used by academic and medical institutions to diagnose rare genetic diseases and cancer, including early onset childhood diseases that routinely save children’s lives by providing a genetic basis for their illnesses. He has served on the Boards of the YMCA, La Jolla Country Day Foundation, and more.

  • Barbara Roman (’68) joins this year’s induction class after a long and successful legal career, serving as partner for the law firm of Meyers, Roman, Friedberg and Lewis. Among a lifetime of accolades, she has been inducted into the Cleveland Marshall College of Law Hall of Fame, recognized as one of the Top 50 Lawyers in Ohio, and Top 25 Lawyers in Cleveland. She has also served as president of the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association. She is a graduate of Ohio State University and Cleveland State University Marshall College of Law.

  • Of this year’s inductees, David Nichting is the only staff member and administrator from Charles F. Brush High School, having served as an assistant principal from 1971-1997. During that time, he developed a deep and compassionate relationship with students, staff, and families in the community. He provided kindness, support, discipline and professionalism. He joined the Brush High School administrative team after having served as a teacher, coach, and counselor in parochial and public schools alike.

In addition to the induction of these six individuals into the Wall of Achievement, twenty-six members of the Charles F. Brush High School Class of 2023 were honored, including: Abdullah Akaiya, Khyila McCall, Ziyah Beasley-Talley, Madeline Pugh, Sujing Chen, Madison Radaker, Anyla Crenshaw, Sujan Rai, Karmyn Dancy, Ronisha Reed, Khalia Dogan, Rodeya Stallworth, Grace Fortunato, Punam Subba, Hannah Holt, Luanna Traben, Alina Lein, Giovanni Tripi, Michelle Lein, Morgan Tyus, Seth Lewis, Jr., Benjamin Weil, Emily Loya, Lauren Weil, Christopher Matovic, and Anastasija Williams.

The mission of the Charles F. Brush High School Alumni Association is Highlighting the Past, Illuminating the Present, and Sparking the Future. Thank you to the Alumni Association for their time, dedication, and hard work. Congratulations to our inductees and our high school honorees.

Print This Article
View text-based website